ElvisPresleyShop.com | Official Elvis Presley Shop

Cart Contents


Elvis CDs FTD CDs DVDsBooksRecords MemorabiliaDeleted »

Best of British : The RCA Years 1957-1958 : Hardcover Book + 2 CDs (Elvis Presley)


Sold out/Deleted.

Elvis Presley CD. FTD (Follow That Dream), Sony Music's Official Elvis Presley Collectors Label. FTD Books This is Elvis, the 'Best Of British : The RCA Years 1957-1958' is the continuation of the British story now detailing his RCA releases from 1957 - 1958. This book and CD release is a follow-up companion to the critically acclaimed and highly successful 'Elvis: The Best Of British - The HMV Years', [now sold out with just a few copies remaining] this book contains the full history of over FIFTY iconic Elvis songs initially released by RCA in Great Britain. Again, each song has been thoroughly researched to the same high standards and is graphically catalogued.

Containing over 1000 illustrations, unpublished photographs and charts, together with rare items of memorabilia, this volume of 'The RCA Years' moves the story forward to explicitly reveal previously unknown facts and additional British connections to the songs.

Within these 500 pages and amongst many formerly unknown fascinating facts, you will discover:

The English pub that inspired an Elvis song! Exactly where and when Elvis learned to play piano! The real life characters contained within the lyrics of Jailhouse Rock!

The CD included with this book features many first-time officially released Elvis tracks. Here, amongst his classic songs, are the songwriters' demo recordings as Elvis first heard them, plus the message he recorded on his home answer machine!

'The RCA Years (1957 - 1958)' chronicles the meteoric rise in Great Britain of the 'Sun King' to the man who would ultimately be crowned 'Artist Of The 20th Century'.

Elvis innovated, others imitated!

Best Of British : The RCA Years 1957-1958

FTD 210 (506020-975081) BAR CODE: 5060209811

The CD

First RCA Single (RCA-1013): July 1957

1. (Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear - 1:51
2. Loving You - 2:16

Soundtrack Selection Of Magical Movie Moments

3. LOVING YOU - Movie Trailer - 1:12
4. Road Medley (Party / Teddy Bear / Got A Lot O' Livin' To Do / Hot Dog) - 2:04
5. Mean Woman Blues (Unedited stereo master) - 2:22
6. Party (Alternate movie lyrics) - 1:16
7. Lonesome Cowboy (Composite) - 3:06
8. JAILHOUSE ROCK - Movie Trailer - 2:05
9. Jailhouse Rock (Movie production version) - 2:59
10. Treat Me Nice (Laurel 101 - Take One) - 2:07
11. Don't Leave Me Now - (Everett demo #2 - Take One) - 1:29
12. Young And Beautiful - (Movie end version) - 2:21
13. KING CREOLE - Movie Trailer - 2:34
14. Turtles, Berries And Gumbo / Crawfish (Unedited movie opening medley) - 4:11
15. Steadfast Loyal And True - (Movie dialogue version) - 0:46
16. Lover Doll (EP version) - 2:15
17. New Orleans (Live nightclub version) - 2:01

The RCA Singles *

18. Doncha' Think It's Time - 2:00
19. Don't - 2:51
20. I Beg Of You - 1:54
21. Wear My Ring Around Your Neck - 2:16

Sun Recordings: First Issued On Rca In 1958

22. I Love You Because (RCA LP version) - 2:45
23. You're A Heartbreaker - 2:12
24. I'll Never Let You Go (Little Darlin') - 2:26

Bonus Tracks: Songwriter Demo Recordings

25. Teddy Bear (Vocal: Otis Blackwell**) - 2:01
26. Don't Ask Me Why (Vocal: Jimmy Breedlove***) 2:08
27. Trouble (Singer unknown****) - 2:08
28. Hard Headed Woman (Vocal: Jimmy Breedlove**) - 2:06
29. Wear My Ring Around Your Neck (Vocal: Gus Coletti*****) - 2:12

Christmas Songs: Issued On All Three Formats (45rpm, EP & LP)

30. Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me) - 1:54
31. Santa Claus Is Back In Town - 2:25

32. Elvis in Germany (October 1st 1958) and Interview edit - 1:32
33. Elvis' Answer Machine - :16

Best of British : The RCA Years 1957-1959 : Hardcover Book from FTD

Elvis Shop > Elvis Presley CD's > FTD CD's > FTD Books

View Cart
Pre-order Conditions

We keep you updated about every pre-order title via the 'Release Status' page.

We should NOT need to answer emails further to this as to when a title will be released/sent to us/sent to you. View. How the 'Release Status' page works ...

Orders will be sent ONLY when the 'Pre-order' is available.

Follow That Dream (FTD) are currently out of stock of this title. It will not be available until the release following the currently announced release.